You are reading

Gerry Hemingway: To Tell a Story 17-07-2020

Concerto

Gerry Hemingway: To Tell a Story 17-07-2020

To Tell a Story: a collection of solo works for drums, electro-acoustic materials, spoken word and song

-135Days -8Hours -1Minutes -24Seconds

EARly is proud to premiere a never before seen fully produced 50 minute solo performance by composer, percussionist, visual artist and performer GERRY HEMINGWAY created during the lockdown period of the pandemic titled “TO TELL A STORY : A Collection Of Solo Works For Drums, Electro_Acoustic Materials, Spoken Word And Song”. This concert presentation will also incorporate the visual art of his long time visual art collaborator, Beth Warshafsky

Mr. Hemingway will also be available in live stream following the performance to answer questions

Date: Friday, July 17th, 2020

Time: 8.30 p.m. Italy (CEST) = 7.30 p.m. London = 2.30 p.m. NYC = 3.30 a.m. Tokyo = 4.30 a.m.

For those of you living outside of Europe – The video will be available at any time in “pay per view” mode after acquiring a ticket. So you can see this at a more convenient time.

All the proceeds from this streaming session will go to the Artist, as for all the other initiatives of EARly.

www.earlygroup.org

Gerry Hemingway has performed as a solo artist since 1974. He also has led a number of quartet & quintets since the mid 80’s as well as being a member of a wide array of collaborative groups including BassDrumBone (now existing for 43 years), Brew w/Reggie Workman & Miya Masaoka, a trio of over 30 years with Georg Graewe & Ernst Reijseger, the Swiss based WHO trio (also existing now for over 20 years) with Michel Wintsch and Baenz Oester, Tree Ear with Sebastian Strinning and Manuel Troller, as well as numerous duo projects with Marilyn Crispell, Samuel Blaser, Thomas Lehn, John Butcher, Ellery Eskelin, Jin-Hi Kim, a o. Mr. Hemingway is a Guggenheim fellow and has received numerous commissions for chamber and orchestral works. He is well known for his eleven years in the Anthony Braxton Quartet (1983-94) along with his collaborations with some of the world’s most outstanding improvisers and composers including Evan Parker, Cecil Taylor, Mark Dresser, Anthony Davis, Derek Bailey, Leo Smith, Frank Gratkowski, Simon Nabatov and many others. He continues to live in Switzerland having joined the faculty of the Hochschule Luzern in 2009.

https://www.gerryhemingway.com
http://gerryhemingway.com/solowork.html
http://gerryhemingway.com/multimedia.html
https://vimeo.com/channels/bethwarsharfsky/videos/sort:date/format:thumbnail